Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2241. All Manual February 15

Spoke to my eldest on the phone this morning after they had been interviewed by a journalist about their research in Viking studies.  Their work is focused upon ways to counteract the adoption of Viking history and folklore by white supremacy groups in modern times.  We saw some odd metaphors in the attire of some of the people who stormed Capitol Hill recently and neo-nazi groups have often used examples from Viking history.  It’s an interesting subject made all the more interesting by their particular slant involving the queer elements of this folklore.  I look forward to reading the final article.  It’s their 38th birthday today and they were looking very well, cant wait to see them face to face...

Today’s photo is a shot of my current knitting project which is using up odds and sods of wool that I seem to have acquired.  Sadly the chicken jumper was not a resounding success as Lucifer flatly refused to wear it, although Pyewacket their cat was perfectly happy to do so!
I am trying various patterns out to knit socks, hats and gloves as an extra wee Christmas stocking gift for people and this is my first attempt at this “flat” sock pattern, I cannot use circular needles and managing 3 - 4 open ended pins is also too difficult with my arthritic hands now, so these are the only types of sock patterns I can now do...It’s looking ok so far!

Our new TV was delivered today and someone may be fitting it tomorrow, apparently they are allowed to as it’s considered essential...who on earth could manage lockdown without a TV!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.