A time for everything

By turnx3

What happened to the trees!

I got a bit of a shock when I stopped in Montgomery on my way home this afternoon to take some pictures of the blossom before it disappeared. The main road through Montgomery used to be lined on both sides with these trees, which are an absolute treat when they are in blossom. I didnt realize immediately what had happened - I knew something was different, but it took me a minute or so to realize they've cut down all the trees on the far side of the street! So I have just gone onto the city website to see what's going on. Apparently they are replacing the paver sidewalks, as well as the mature street trees and upgrading the historic streetlight electrical system. Since many of these trees have been there for over 30 years, and their root systems would be severely compromised by the excavation necessary to replace the electrical service to the streetlights and for the removal of existing paver walkways, the trees are going to be replaced by younger ones. To be honest, I cant see whats wrong with the current pavers - I've not noticed them being particularly uneven or anything. They're going to do the work in two phases - one side at a time. But in the meantime, the far side of the street looks so bare and naked!As for the blossom, its a good job I didnt leave it any later, since it was practically raining blossom at times, as you can tell from all the blossom on the sidewalk! Tomorrow it is supposed to rain, so I doubt if there'll be much left by the end of tomorrow.

We were out at our church's Maundy Thursday service this evening - Roger and I were singing in the choir and playing handbells for the prelude and offertory. I always find it a very meaningful service, but this year seemed particularly so. There were a few new elements this year, and our new Associate Pastor Shirley made a really special address. The service ends on a contemplative note and everyone is asked to leave the sanctuary in silence. However, for those of us in the Bell Choir, that mood was somewhat spoiled, as we had to move the bell tables up onto the same level as the choir, to make room for the brass and percussion that we will have Easter Sunday, and the tables had to be "re-dressed" - that is the black covers and skirts that we used tonight had to be replaced with the usual light green ones ready for Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.