Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Three in a row

Last night we had a very interesting inter camera club competition - five clubs competing with each club submitting ten images (one of which was mine). The images are scored out of ten and the club with the highest points wins. The judge was very strict but fair and I did agree with most of his comments. When I saw the high standard of the entrants' images I was worried, but I achieved a respectable score. What was most interesting is that one of the members from one of the other clubs was Polina Plotnikova, a highly regarded and well known professional photographer who is considered to be one of the best for her fine art flower images. I love her work and have been wanting to book on a workshop with her. She had submitted two images, one I suspect may have been a risky image on which she wanted another professional photographer's opinion - the judge did not like it and it did not score well at all. The other image was from her 'past perfect' series and I thought it was exceptional, but it only scored well but not highly. 

This morning we noticed poor water pressure and then through the whatsapps from our neighbourhood group I learnt that there was a burst water pipe in a street nearby and soon we had no water. I took Xena for a walk in the woods wondering how I was going to wash the mud off her after the walk without water. Then of all days, the princess really let me down. She found some squishy poo in the undergrowth which she had great fun rolling in (I am convinced it was human poo!) - when I reached out to grab her by her collar to pull her away from it I did not notice her collar was covered in poo so I got it all over my hands. I tried to clean up with a tissue but that did not really help, so for the rest of the walk I walked with poo covered hands held away from my body feeling like the friggin' Pied Piper as all the dogs were noticing me and following me. It was the worst walk ever!  When I got home thankfully the water was back on again and Gavin washed her off with shampoo while I washed my hands about 10 times and put anti bac all over them. I then wiped down everything I had touched with anti bac...disgusting!

It was dull and raining today, (although it has brightened up now), so I decided to rather take some indoor photos of my tulips. I had a plain white background and I added a layer of a photo of our hall floor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.