Binns Clock Returns

So (!), this is the newly refurbished clock reinstated above the old Binns at the west end corner of Princes Street. It was removed when Binns, which latterly became Fraser’s, was sold several years ago and renovations took place. These appear to be ongoing but the renovated clock has just been replaced.

Anyone growing up in Edinburgh would be familiar with a romantic or otherwise assignation to meet at Binns corner under the clock. Many a liason has had its beginnings at that draughty corner.

I can only remember one meeting there with a would be suitor from my university class. Either he was late or I was early but I resisted the temptation to run before he appeared. I wasn’t quick enough and was persuaded against all my instincts on to the back of his motorbike. Where we went I have no recollection, but I lived to tell the tale ....but certainly not to my mother. I met him 25 years later at a class reunion and he had outgrown his dishevelled look and was no doubt a pillar of the community.

I must remember to ask my brother how many times he met a girl at that corner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.