a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Abstract Post Heptaptych

Abstract Thursday: Shape

A selection of  seven fine posts from one of the local fields forms the basis of today's blip entry.  They are all quite old and suitably weathered, and as a result, full of character.  

Each post measures about 15cm wide and about the same deep.  Barbed wire is attached to the posts.  Curiously, each post has a hole drilled into it, which has gradually expanded in shape as the years have weathered it.  The hole serves no obvious function, as it runs front to back rather than side to side, so it is not used for passing wire through the posts. I have no idea why.

 While out taking photos of these posts I heard an unusually low and gravelly sounding cawing.  I spotted the bird making the noise perched on the roof joists of an abandoned barn nearby and with some care managed to get reasonably close to it.  It was one of a pair of ravens - which needless to say didn't hang around long once I got too close.  I didn't have a suitable lens with me so was more concerned with getting close enough to identify the bird and didn't get a photo - but I can now add wild ravens to the list of local wildlife that I have seen.  There are definitely some advantages to being forced to take all my exercise locally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.