carliewired

By carliewired

Eagles on the River

Fishing, calling to 
each other, perching in the
trees to watch and wait

~ carliewired

I really dragged my feet getting out the door today. It's grey. We've taken a step back towards winter with temperatures at freezing during the day. It looked and felt like a day to remain inside with a fuzzy blanket and a hot chocolate. 

By 2 PM I couldn't put it off any longer. Light snow was beginning to fall as I popped the garage door up. 

The views along the river were desolate until I spied eagles perched in the trees beside the roadway. I had entered their hunting grounds. There were eagles of varying ages everywhere I looked. I was afraid I would disturb them and scare them off, but they seemed more determined than I was. I watched them watching me. They were quiet and stoic for the most part. Suddenly, one would soar down from a branch to the river's edge, screeching as it flew. There was something in the river they were after. I took as many photos as I could manage before the cold set in.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.