Still Freezing Overnight

Imagine a night,
the moon shining bright and your
skates skimming the ice

~ carliewired

I was out at 8 AM heading to Schubert Drive. It was a calm 2 C and cloudy. I hoped I could snatch some photos before I did some grocery shopping. 

I parked beside the Rivers Trail and took one of the paths to the river. It's been freezing overnight so the puddles make some interesting patterns.Most of the river's banks are cleared of snow but the paths can be icy.  My surprise today was the little ice arena that had been created near the shoreline. Somebody had gone to some effort to clear the snow from the ice and bank the perimeter of the circle. There was even a bench added at its edge. I watched a dog walker out on the riverbed enjoying the freedom of the space. I picked my way back carefully to my truck and was off for groceries! 

N is here working again today. It should be a quiet day for me. 

We're expecting a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 9 C. Looking ahead, we could step back into some cold days next week. Ugh! Winter's not done yet! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.