Tranquille - Calves

The herd made crunching
noises as it moved over 
the icy pasture

~ carliewired


I was up early and out the door by 8 AM. No sunrise of note. It was cloudy, calm and 0 C. I picked up breakfast at the drive-thru and drove off to Tranquille by the lake. 

I stopped for a view of my mountains looking east. There was a very long freight train stopped just before the Red Lake turnoff. I'd hoped to see some big horn sheep in that area, but the train would be blocking my view. I turned back to the spot where I can see the feed lot. Today, there are calves. The herd was standing and waiting for food. A few were bawling. The tractor finally arrived just before 9 AM. I'm told there's grain spread out first and then the hay is put out. I was surprised to see so many birds in the immediate area, but I'm sure they are atrracted by the grain. There were Canada geese scouring the pasture as well as ducks. Eagles were on the ground and watching everything. I heard coyotes yipping down by the river. Several horses were grazing in one section of the pasture near the road. I would guess those are for the cowboys. As I was just about to leave, I looked up on the hill to see a big horn turn its back to leave. I got one feeble shot. 

I was home just after 9. I'm waiting on the delivery of my new recliner today. I paid/ordered it on November 20/21. I hope it comes without any glitches. 

The forecast warned of snow flurries overnight and this morning, then turning to rain showers. I'm happy to report we've received nothing so far today. We look forward to a high of 6 C.

In our national capital, police are removing the "Freedom" demonstrators today. It's about bloody time! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.