Shuswap Road Before Breakfast

A better morning
than forecast can always be
appreciated

~ carliewired

It was a watercolor sky at 6:30 AM. The weatherman has been threatening snow flurries/rain showers for several days and we've yet to receive more than a sprinkle of rain. I'm not complaining! This morning was far more promising than we'd been led to believe. I decided to finish my morning coffee and get on the road by 7:30 in case the forecast was correct. 

I haven't travelled on the Shuswap Road for several months. It is a quick trip across the Halston Bridge and south on the Yellowhead Highway to the turnoff taking me east along the north side of the South Thompson River. 

I took my time this morning and made several stops while squinting at the bright light in the east. My first stop brought me to a view into the canyons north of the road. I admire the rail fences and the perilous barbed wired fences that reach up on steep slopes. I could see white dots moving on the far end of the canyon. I had hopes these were big horned sheep, but they were horses browsing the steep slope. My telephoto was not up to that challenge. I drove to the spot just short of the bridge and turned around. Canada geese were filling up the fields along the silt bluffs. I would think these are migratory and heading to their summer breeding grounds. On the river, I found some Trumpeter swans and many ducks. The willows tucked into creek beds are now a yellowy-orange. On the other side of the river there are many luxury homes that enjoy their river location. 

I picked up my breakfast on the way home and was inside listening to the 9 AM news on the radio. 

It will be a very quiet day at home. I have no particular plans for the day. 

We're looking at a high of 4 C and a chance of rain showers or snow flurries this afternoon. We're in the middle of a long weekend so things are rather quiet around town today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.