COLD!

A step back into
winter was not on my wish 
list at all - no thanks! 

~carliewired

I was sitting in the dark drinking coffee at 6 AM. I was watching to see if something wonderful might happen to the sunrise, but I was disappointed. An arctic air mass has moved down onto the province overnight. Here, it was -9 C, cloudy and windy when I left the house at 8 AM. 

I drove to Riverside Park for a very quick jaunt with my camera. It was -18 C with the windchill factor. I had to find a spot out of the wind to get my photos. There were white caps on the river and the wind whistled through the trees.My fingers were freezing. No birds were on the river. The Canada geese had hunkered down in the park out of the wind. I watched some take to the air. It was the first time I'd noticed that they can move sideways in gusting wind. They fly into the wind and slide off to the side. I made this one of the quickest jaunts I've ever made, got back into the truck and headed for home. I was back in time for the 9 AM news. 

I'm home today. I am expecting my daughter to join me. We each have some projects we could work on. 

We have a high of -4 C in the forecast with a chance of snow flurries. This cold spell is supposed to last for a couple of days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.