carliewired

By carliewired

Rude!

If you act this way 
with complete strangers how do
you behave at home? 

~ carliewired

My painting pal had said there were calves arriving out by Tranquille. I took my camera out in the afternoon. It was the first day it felt warm when I popped up the garage door. Snow is melting making little lakes and mud everywhere. 

I drove to a parking spot used by many. People arrive here with kids, dogs and picnic baskets. Today, it was a sea of slippery mud. As I got out of the truck a Canadian National train rolled by on the other side of the road heading east to the terminal. 

I tippy-toed over to the nearest fence where I could peer over and look down to the fields below me. I could see a couple of calves off in the distance. What attracted my attention was two cowboys rounding up a cow. They seemed to be having great difficulty with her as they zigzagged around the field. The stray wasn't moving very fast but they ran her into a barbed wired fence below me. She managed to extract her head from between the wires and then headed up the slope towards me. The two cowboys started yelling and screaming as they pursued her. I couldn't hear what they were saying as it was a complete cacophony of vocal noise. I backed up and looked around me, still not discerning what was needed.  I took myself out of the cow's line of travel as there was only a barbed wire fence between her and me. What I couldn't see through the layers of logs and other fencing to my left, was a passage way for the cow into an adjoining field. She veered to her right before hitting the barbed wire fence in front of me and bolted through the passage with the cowboys right behind her. One of the cowboys was still running off at the mouth when he dismounted to close the gate. 

I was apparently the source of their aggravation as they thought the cow would not head in the correct direction if I was standing anywhere near it. I think the cow was actually smarter than both of them. I believe they were angry that I might have photographed them running the cow into the barbed wired fence. They should bring a couple of dogs with them as they can't maneuver one stray between them. I was sorry to discover that even cowboys can be a-holes. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.