Clear and Cold

A day with sun but
temperatures are below the
seasonal norms now

~ carliewired

I had hopes for a great sunrise, but the colours did not spread or intensify. I was content that it was not cloudy, but it was windy and cold. It was - 12 when I left the house at 7:30 AM. I picked up a few groceries, then drove on to Mission Flats to find some eagles. 

Eagles were in short supply this morning. I found two performing acrobatics over the river but I could not catch them in the air. When they landed on the far shore, they were just too far beyond the range of my camera. I got a shot across the river to the airport and also a view to the west where the river meets the lake. Just a couple of arctic weather days and the river is filling with ice again. I didn't spend much time composing my photos as the wind was brisk and bone-chilling even with the sun shining. I kept tucking my camera inside my coat to keep it warm as possible.

I turned the truck around to head home, then discovered one juvenile eagle roosting near the roadway. I pulled over to the shoulder, rolled down my window and got some shots from the driver's seat. That was a whole lot warmer than what I had done earlier! 

I picked up some breakfast and made for home. N called so we did some more shopping at the hardware store. I brought it home and he will arrive after lunch to unload it all.

It's a day at home. I'm appreciating the sunshine in spite of the colder termperatures. 

The forecast calls for a sunny day with a high of -6 C. Temperatures will start to moderate as we head into the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.