Day Today

By Feathers14

High Key(wi) Photography

This is a very different picture to anything that I've shot before... I have no idea why I 'forgot' this, but photography is an artform. I always mostly use photography to record stuff that has happened, but it can and should be used creatively. I guess I struggle with the creative aspect and that's why I've always tended to keep away from it.

The photography competition I entered had some fantastic artistic shots, and coupled with Andy's blip from Wednesday it reminded me to use photography as an art medium; just shooting photography for the sake of photography.

This was the result: Un-evenly sliced kiwis placed on a glass table with a flash bounced off white paper that was placed on the floor, below. Note I shot this by manually synching the flash, as I don't have an off-camera flash sync cord (yet!). Not a bad effort I thought... Would look better if the kiwis were more evenly sliced but meh.

Today: Recovered from a mild Jug-Curry-Kelsey's induced hangover with Eve (who has since done 6 hours of travelling back to Geneva... Dunno how she did it; rather her than me!), went to my lecture but definitely power napped in it, did some project work and then strolled round Canon Park before heading home. Quite a nice day, overall.

TLDR: Hangover; project work; food.

Peace

---------------------------

So yesterday I said I sucked at using a flash gun, and today's blip doesn't totally disprove that, either. As I said, consistency in the kiwi slicing would have yielded better results, but hey ho. I like the level of detail in the fruit and the fact that this shot still continues the minimalist phase that I'm going through, at the moment. Any other feedback is muchos appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.