Day Today

By Feathers14

1.... 2....... Freeze!

This is the video that Raggy & I filmed (that features an intro by Faffy) last weekend when we were up in Newcastle breaking at Uni Champs.

This is the video we made of today's events...

I took over 1,000 pictures today, and yet this one stands out. Why? The face; it draws you in. At least, it did for me. The bloke in the background wearing bright red trousers and a matching red hat can't even detract from the subject as much as he should.

This is not a perfect picture by any stretch - one of Andrei's feet is out of shot and the other is blurry, although this isn't as catastrophic as it would otherwise be, as it does depict action and movement relatively well. Despite this, I just 'feel' something when I look at this picture, hence why I chose it.

So what exactly was today? It was a bboy event in Coventry organised by a good friend, Andy. Breakers from Warwick and Cov Uni and the Midlands traveled to Cov to compete and represent. I honestly can't think of many other activities that can keep me sat on the floor in a hot room for 6+ hours at a time (and today was a short bboy event!). It was awesome to see everyone else from the uni breaking society also throw down.

I woke up early, got the tiniest piece of project work done, picked up a lens (the coveted 30mm f1.4) from PhotoSoc and then got a lift into Cov with Lewis.

Raggy and I entered the competition (our crew name was Playbboys - see, the puns continue in real life, not just blip) and although we didn't get through the first round, we did get 1 out of 3 of the judges' votes!!!! This might not sound very impressive but the fact that 1 judge thought we deserved to go through to the next round more than our opponents (despite the fact that I thought they toasted us) is a huge step forward and kind of nice to know that all the training we do is doing something!

A great day - I just wish I'd done more project work... Hey ho

-------------------------------

I learnt a lot more about photographing bboys today.... Mostly that I completely fucked up a lot of previous shots by shooting at f1.4 to achieve a fast shutter speed and low ISO. Well, I shot most of today on f2.5 and the difference is radical - Yeah ISO has taken a hit but so many more shots are usable and in focus. In future I'll have to take this and learn from it. I do wish that I had access to a wider angle lens than the 30mm, though... Something like the Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 would be just dandy :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.