randomgirl

By randomgirl

The Burn rushing through Reelig Glen

Finally got the Glen (almost) to myself again today. It was very late on a wet, Friday afternoon, so not such a popular time for visitors. It's been so much busier with walkers generally during the pandemic, as it's one of the well known local beauty spots. I prefer to go when it's really quiet.

I think the rain and dampness actually adds to the wild and mysterious atmosphere of the place. It is basically a mini rainforest, with ferns, mosses and lichen dripping from the trees and covering all the logs and boulders etc. The burn was roaring away and sounding very impressive when I got there. It's a shame there wasn't long before it was getting dark. Had to just take photos quickly and not linger too long. I have a lot to learn about photography (one day!).... like how to take good photos in failing light.

Edit: Forgot to include the Alpacas! Took two of my daughters with me to the Farm shop in Beauly today. I thought it would be nice to try and say hello to their resident alpacas.... something different during these samey lockdown days.
Sadly they stayed right at the other end of the field to us, until just as we were leaving in the car. I took a snap hastily through the car window and include it here just for posterity (& for the funny juxtaposition with the other photos). Don't ask me how I didn't even manage to get it focussed!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.