Crocus corsicus

In my cold frames at least, the crocus season is drawing to a close.   On Christmas day I shared the first 'spring' crocus this season, Crocus imperati from Italy.   Today's, Crocus corsicus (the clue's in the name) is usually the last to appear along with Crocus minimus which overlaps with it in the wild.   Somewhat delicate but beautifully marked, there used to be a nice clone in cultivation which did well for me in the garden about a quarter of a century ago.   That clone might actually have been a hybrid of cultivation with aforementioned Crocus imperati. 

A brighter day although showers which came and went, were never far away.   I put the Christmas tree back in the loft, it's cheery presence replaced by a magnificent Amaryllis that Una passed on to me a few years ago.   As we approach the date of her funeral, it seems appropriate to have it there, alongside another plant that came from her house.

I repotted the bulk of my achimenes - Hot Water Plants - and did a few other, less interesting chores and now Jamie is cooking sausages for tea which we will have with Jackfruit in barbecue sauce.  Yummy!

PS Thank you for all the hearts and stars given to yesterday's special crocus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.