YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Up on’t moor

Decided I wanted a different walk today, so set off to go up onto the moor.  The clouds looked quite dramatic, but it felt mild.  Going up Dolphin Lane there was quite a stream coming down, and parts of the path leading to the moor were very muddy.  Up on the moor I wandered about for a while taking in views across to Haworth Moor and Ogden Moor.  Only saw 1 biker whilst I was up there.  Reaching the exit I decided I wanted a longer walk so crossed to the other part of the moor - this was much busier, so I went off onto quieter pathways initially.  Meandered about taking too many photos as usual.  Main image is of the rather wet and muddy conditions on one of the more popular pathways.  Extras of red catkins, different parts of the moorland, plus a fire across on Keighley moor which I assume was controlled burning.  Decided to go further and so took the route which brought me out on Altar Lane, at which point the heavens opened, but luckily it didn’t last long. Down into St Ives, and given that it was the end of the afternoon there were still lots of families turning up for a walk.  Just before arriving home a text pinged through from my son asking if I had got lost!  I found I had been out for 3 hours.  Walk of just over 7 miles, so my arthritic feet will be sore in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.