Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Daffodils

I have been waiting for this day to come as when we went into lockdown at Christmas the Prime Minister said today was the day he would announce the steps out of it. The infections rates have come right down, the vaccination program is going great guns, so I was hoping for a bit more than what we have been allowed as per today's announcement. 

From 8 March children go back to school and we can meet one person outdoors - which we have always been allowed to do so what's the big deal about that? Nothing in my life changes until 29th March when we can meet outdoors in groups of 6 or with two households. I cannot believe I have to wait another bloody 8 weeks until I can get a haircut, as hairdressers and shops can only open from 12 April. My last haircut was at the beginning of December as we have been in lockdown earlier than other areas as our area was in a high Tier. Next changes are allowed from 17 May and finally...we can interact socially again from 21 June. It has been a long and hard road out of this pandemic, and it still won't be over, but life will be much easier I think. 

I did not expect all restrictions to be lifted at the announcement today but I am so fed up with lockdown, I am going to have to dig really deep to keep going until 12 April when the lifting of some of the restrictions will have any benefit on my life, as nothing really changes for me personally until then.

This morning was busy - usual stuff of laundry, planning menus for the week, grocery shopping, walking Xena, making soup...no wonder I missed the financial meeting on zoom that I was meant to attend with Gavin at 1pm, I was still busy shopping in the supermarket at that time.

Tonight I have camera club where we have a zoom talk by someone on creative flower photography but I have double booked as I also have an RPS talk on mono photography - think I will watch the RPS talk and have to miss the camera club this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.