Definitely on the other side of the line

Yesterday, I saw a newly painted utility box on the Trams to Newhaven instagram, this time painted by someone called Mia McGregor, who I think is from Weegieland. It’s in tribute to the ancient glassworks that were excavated recently when a new site was cleared for development, right up against the docks, on the other side of what I think is Baltic Street (but the instagram says Salamander Street) from where the utility box is located. We both thought it was lovely, so this morning we went for an early morning walk, which took in the Links, Salamander and Baltic Streets, and then Maritime Street, so that we could photograph it before it gets dirty (the spot where it is must be pretty high pollution, so it won’t look fresh like that for long). Given the time that we went out, every second person we met was a cheerful looking parent taking a small child to school or nursery.... I think there were some happy people regarding the partial school opening this morning!

Other than that, progress was made on various fronts, before I did a spinning class to some classic rock tracks before dinner. That’s left me feeling, shall we say, “relaxed”. Also, two friends announced they were both moving to the same institution (from separate institutions), so it was all go on the wires. I knew about it, as I acted as a referee for both of them! But I guess some people were genuinely surprised.

Edit: Mr A and I have just had an interesting chat about where Baltic Street ends and Salamander Street starts. It would appear that this utility box is on Baltic Street, but the new housing is on Salamander Street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.