curns' corner

By curns

Countdown

My face is reflected in the timer on the microwave oven as the countdown gets to 2 seconds.

We have a ritual that began in the first week of lockdown last year and is still going, PY makes a cafetière of coffee each morning to start our respective days. Now that I get up and do a walk before I have breakfast we don’t always have the coffee together but it’s always there waiting for me.

If there’s any remaining in the pot then it also becomes my second and, maybe, third coffee of the day. When I get to the those later drinks I have to reheat it. 30 seconds is enough to make it hot enough to drink but it’s remarkable how different mugs absorb the heat differently. Some come out almost unbearable while other are still easy to handle. And the drink is always piping hot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.