randomgirl

By randomgirl

Wild Geese

I love the flocks of wild geese that migrate here every winter. I've always loved the sight and especially the amazing sound of them as they fly over you or even in the distance. They seem to spend all day eating the green shoots in fields, and then flying to find new fields to rest and eat in. (I gather farmers find them very annoying).

I was particularly thrilled today when a flock of them flew up suddenly from a nearby field on my walk and circled in the sky directly over me. I hadn't been that close up to them before and they hadn't flown very high yet.

I didn't manage to get a nice crisp photo of them as my phone is rather limited for that sort of thing, but I'm putting one of the pics up here anyway, because it was such an enjoyable, exhilarating moment. (NB: I've actually cropped this photo to get in closer to the image of the moon just behind them....hence it's a wee bit on the fuzzy side)

I should add that about two seconds after I took this photo I luckily had the sense to stop looking up and put my phone away. Just as I did, a goose poo landed splat on my shoulder. It made quite a loud noise! I was just amused that I'd had the sense to look down, and the good luck that it also didn't land on my head! So note to future self: best not to stand and gawk at geese flying overhead, no matter how wonderful a sight it is! (Actually though, I'm glad I did)

Extras are just shots I took a few minutes before I met the geese. I love the shape of these old Oak trees and the evening skies you often get along this particular track. I've also included the original uncropped version of the geese photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.