nice

On January 5th, 2021 I wrote:

"Meanwhile, tomorrow, the Vice President counts the electoral votes, a tradition I never before knew we had. 
There have been threats of civil war since before the election in 2016.
I discounted threats of civil war this election, expressly stating that these people were inept cowards and that while there might be violence, it would be sporadic and unorganized. 
Tonight and tomorrow we find out.
People are being asked to not come into town.
The National Guard has been called up."


Today the Capitol Police testified that they didn't know violence was expected and they weren't told except by email, by the FBI, at 7 pm January 5th, an email that they didn't see. Really??? I do not have access to classified information. We all knew violence was expected. I was hoping it would be inept, but we all knew violence was expected. 

This morning I spoke with a friend who is now in Mozambique. He shared insights that I was able to use just a few hours later. Crossing fingers & hoping for the best.

I was once nice to him in a way that was very meaningful to him and he's never forgotten it (although I do - and then he says that I treat people really well and I go through this whole, "what is he talking about?" and then finally remember). It works that way sometimes. Sometimes someone is nice and it hits the recipient in a surprisingly powerful way and then you've got a loyal friend for life. Someone on blip was nice to me in a way that was very meaningful to me and I've never forgotten it. This community has developed a really supportive, caring culture. 

So. Anyway. Thank you. That is enough excessive sweetness and treacle. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.