pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Thunder Road

I had a clear day work-wise, which gave me a chance to get on top of some boring stuff and spend a bit more time on the home-schooling.

Mercifully, for both the children and myself, there are only three remaining days for them to suffer under my personal perma-baffled tutelage. I say mercifully for myself, but I don’t really mean it. 

For the most part, I have loved having them around whilst I work. I’ve loved their interest over the broking software I use (it isn’t interesting). I’ve loved the fact that I have my own personal email monitors “Another one, Daddy? You’re busy today!” I’ve loved the company at lunch whilst we eat our salmon and cream cheese bagels and discuss the matters of the day ie. topics for the next president teddy film “why doesn’t he interview the other bears in the house?” 

The joy of giggles, laughter and general hubbub of my children playing nicely while I work has been a privilege which has far outweighed any inconvenience or ill-timed flare up or argument over who was occupying who’s space. Their relentless patience for hearing “I’ll be there in a minute / Just give me a minute / Not now, I have to get this done” on a loop from me is humbling, particularly when they still call me the World’s Best Dad as I remove them from the bath, dry them and wipe the tears of laughter which fell from my eyes following an epic bath-fart from The Youngest which made the house tremble.

It’s why I wanted to give them a little treat this evening, by way of a McDonald’s delivered to the house. The fact that the app tracks the driver in real time from picking up the meal to pulling up outside your house, blew their fascinated, inquisitive little minds as they stared at the little car moving on the iPad screen. We sat and had a carpet picnic and at The Youngest’s insistence had to pass President Teddy around and make him say and do something in our cod-Russian/Eastern bloc accents. 

M’boy was laughing so hard that he nearly choked on his hamburger when I had President Teddy declare that chicken nuggets came from his bottom. The Youngest, to her credit, having eyed them suspiciously for a moment, continued to polish them off regardless.

Today felt the like the beginning of the end of something. Something that has been difficult and taxing, yet easy and rewarding. I will miss them. I will miss the noise of my children in the working day, but it will be tempered by the knowledge that they will truly be back in the best possible place for them with a curriculum that is neither based in farts or talking teddies.



Oh, today’s title is inspired by the Bruce Springsteen influenced film; Blinded By The Light, which is also worth a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.