pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

First Fix

I know. This is an exceptionally dull photo. Sorry.

However, it does represent the next stage of the loft conversion project with a plethora of wires being installed and running all over the place. I have no idea how the sparky is able to keep track of them all, but I’m sure they know what they’re doing. Don’t they?

With the continuing purple patch in mind, I headed out to a local business networking event (I loathe business networking events with a pathological passion) to act as wingman for a colleague. An acquaintance of mine and I had conspired to introduce our respective colleagues to one another for their mutual benefit, which essentially meant that I took four hours out of my day to ensure that a handshake took place, which it did.

Given wider world events of the day, it seems a little trite to bang on about a week where it all came together. I was suitably re-grounded when m’boy came back in to me after getting ready for bed and sobbing his little heart out because he was scared about what was happening in the Ukraine and for its people and he was worried that it could happen here. I praised him for his empathy and tried to put his mind at rest, that he was safe and that this tragically sad and dark day wasn’t about us. It is instead a very simple tale about a bully who already has plenty but is still intent on taking more of what he perceives to be his from others. It is about a bully who has been empowered and emboldened by the inaction of those with the power to stop him.

One of the few saving graces is that history tells us that eventually it doesn’t turn out too well for the bully, but it is eventually, which unfortunately means there is a lot of death, pain and suffering before we move from this point to that. 

Perhaps we can learn from what has gone before and remember that bullies will only ever be defeated by a show of strength and certainly not by taking money from the pockets of their friends.

Blimey. That was a heavy one, wasn’t it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.