JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Ducks and gulls

The day's been beautiful, and I went out early to take photos of 3 sculptures in one of Sheffield's largest parks (Endcliffe), for the ArtUK project.
That done, I got absorbed in looking at the swathes of crocus blooms in the sunshine, and the gulls crowding around one of the large ponds in the park. Parent/child pairs were helpfully providing "duck food" there; I think this was something waterbird-specific, rather than the stale bread I remember from childhood. The ducks were not impressed but the resident gulls were very keen.
This reminded me of Tim Dee's wonderful book "Landfill", which is all about gull populations and the way in which their lives are influenced by human waste disposal habits. Among other things, I discovered from this that there are now gull populations that are entirely based inland, often in urban settings; something I had not realised before. However, the moves towards more sustainable forms of waste disposal are reducing their feeding opportunities, so this may change again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.