Still struggling for words...

... in the face of the news. As I write this entry, Kyiv is under imminent threat; the Ukrainian government is arming civilians and mobilising volunteers.  They can't have much chance, against the mass of the Russian forces. Especially since Putin is clearly happy to lay waste to Ukraine, and to his own personnel, as he pushes to re-establish some sort of post-Soviet empire.
I listened to the first episode of the BBC's new "Ukrainecast" podcast earlier, presented by Gabriel Gatehouse and Victoria Derbyshire, in the slightly desperate attempt to regain some sense of analysis and understanding, rather than incoherent horror.   I also listened to Philippe Sands at the end of the Today programme this morning - the man who wrote the wonderful East West Street.  He clearly sees how widely this might escalate, how much of a threat it is.

In the light (the light?) of all this, I found it hard to sleep last night, and hard to concentrate on much once I woke up properly, not long after 6.

The morning was bright and dry, and I decided to get out around 7 and take a photo I've had in mind for some time.   It's one of the sculptures I recorded last year for ArtUK. At the time I took some straightforward 'record' shots, but always meant to go back and see whether a shot of the piece framed by the steelworks behind it might work.  I think I got there just a little too late this morning; ideally I'd like a softer light. So I hope to go back and try again, another sunny morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.