Weighing the sugar!

First thank you all so much for all the lovely comments stars and hearts for my 7 year blip yesterday!  I really appreciate them all! Xxxxx

Today 4yo and I started by making a chocolate cake.  She weighed the sugar ,250g, and broke all four eggs! I weighed the cornflour and flour, 50/50 130g all told, and she broke the bar of chocolate, 130g, for melting.  She mixed the sugar and the eggs but when I added the flour she was finding it a bit hard, so I took over and also added the chocolate and prepared the tin. By then she was off playing with the toys!!  
Gas Mk 6 for 25-30 mins.  If you use a milk less chocolate this is a dairy free recipe!  And it’s delicious! Then we made masks!  And tried to discuss what sort of superhero we would like to be!  When I suggested I would like to be able to get people to do what I wanted I was told in no uncertain terms that that was not a superhero quality.  She was quite cross with me! :-)

For once 7yo did all her work without the usual reticence! In the afternoon she and I had a PowerPoint on pollination!  So I went into the garden and sacrificed a big purple crocus.  She loved the big feathery stigma and the stamens that left loads of pollen on her fingers.  We looked at them with my magnifying light and she took a few photos!  We discussed the bees going in and getting covered in pollen.  I also had some Christmas roses that were past the flowering stage and we could break the bottom of the fruiting body to reveal the immature seeds.  It was great fun and she decided to write down the names of the different parts of the flower!  Then we managed the school’s exercise in no time and she could go and play!  I gave the girls a parcel from their aunt full of lots of odds and ends that they were over the moon at getting!  Include were some jumping frogs! You push the tail to make them jump!  Only mine would only jump backwards for me!

Ro has just gone for an Asda click and collect!  Should be back any time now! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.