Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Abstract Thursday

Thanks to Ingeborg for providing me with some inspiration today.  Although this isn't in the optional "painterly" theme, I think it fits as abstract.  I was really feeling totally unmotivated and by 2:30 I was in a state of angst about what I would blip for today.  So, out onto the deck with camera in hand.

The birds were being singularly uncooperative.  The trees in the woods are pretty boring but...but...maybe with a little ICM?  So I cranked down the ISO and shutter, closed up the aperture as much as the camera would allow and moved the lens up and down as I clicked.  This was the only shot of the sequence that am keeping, and I have to say that I like it quite a lot.  I have seen this done with birch trees but have never tried it with our mixed woods.  Not sure it would have worked if not for the snow on the ground.  

I started watching Mrs America on Hulu (thanks to Irish59 for the recommendation) and am totally captivated.  It really takes me back to the 1970's when I was still in my late teens, on fire with passion for all sorts of social causes.  The women of that time who were in front of the Equal Rights Amendment are legendary, as are some of the women on the other side who fought to keep women at home.  Amazingly, there are still 15 states in the US that never ratified the ERA.  Which is kind of shocking.

But not as shocking as the fact that there are 27 states that do not afford protection from discrimination against the LGBTQ community.  Which basically means LGBTQ people can be fired, can be evicted, can be refused service simply based on who they love.  That is so wrong - I can't even find the words to say how wrong that is.  

Please be safe, and be kind, and be loving.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.