Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snow Dog

I met three of my birder friends for a walk this morning in the northern part of the county.  We found a park where the roads were cleared so we just walked 2 miles on the road, enjoying good company, sunshine and temperatures above freezing.  And, someone had their pit bull out for a romp in the snow which I couldn't resist.  

I fiddled with this shot to isolate the dog in the snow, so I removed the horizon.  I like it.  I will put anther shot where I just cropped out the horizon in Extra.  I like this one a bit better because you can see the snow kicking up as the dog runs.  There is something truly joyful about watching dogs in snow.  Our collie used to bound through the snow like a furry deer.

Speaking of deer, two bucks came around just at sunset last night and found the dried corn I'd put out.  Glad they got to have a little something to eat, poor things.  

Hubs had a short visit at the cemetery with his brother and father and has now started heading back north.  He will stop tonight and then finish the last 600 miles tomorrow.  Since he was on the road, I sat in for the quarterly care meeting for my MIL with the care facility where she lives.  She is doing well on all counts, thankfully.  

It is currently 50 F outside - feels downright balmy!  I am thinking that I'll try snow-sewing some seeds tomorrow.  I have some native swamp milkweed that I intended to put down in the fall but it should still get the required cold stratification if I do it this week.  And we still have a LOT of snow on the ground so snow-sowing will be a cinch.  Daytime temps for the next week will be well above freezing with nighttime temps going about 5-10 degrees below freezing.  Perfect.

Be kind, stay safe, get vaccinated if you are able.  And today's recommendation is 72% dark chocolate.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.