A Painterly Abstract

This picture has hung on some wall of some house for almost 50 years. It was painted by Dana when she was in preschool. I think if it had a little sign by it in a gallery it would say tempera on computer paper. Remember, 50 years ago computer paper was those large folded sheets with perforations between them. For this particular work she chose to use two sheets and the perforations were right down the middle.

I put tape over the perforations in hopes of keeping it in one piece while I took it to the lovely old Japanese framer sitting in the back of his dim little shop surrounded by beautiful old scrolls and the hint of incense.
He looked at my  kid’s preschool finger painting, made some recommendations for the frame and the mat, then looked up at me and said, ‘next time, try to get her to use better paper.’

The colors have faded a bit, less so under the tape, but I still like the picture, and I still remember that sweet old man who treated a child’s art work with respect.

I got a reminder for my second Covid shot on Monday which gives me hope that they have enough vaccine and it is not stuck in Houston. John’s ‘expedited’ new credit card seems, however, to have vanished without trace or further tracking in Memphis.

For some reason I’m happy that tomorrow is Friday even though it is not noticeably different than any other day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.