pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Dancing In The...Morning

I normally feel a little lost and deflated when I’ve dropped the children off, but this morning I was in a more positive frame of mind for some reason. It was like the early morning mist which cleared the area first thing, lifted from my mind too.

The radio went on as soon as I got back and the Groovefinder remix of Nina Simone’s ‘Ain’t Got No - I Got Life’ burst forth. The volume went up and I danced* for the first time since I can’t remember when.

When that song was done, I put some Springsteen on and danced about to that too - can’t believe that I’ve never given The Boss more of a chance before now. I’ve realised now that I had completely misunderstood ‘Born in the USA’, incorrectly thinking it to be a paean of flag-waving, American patriotism, when if anything, its true meaning is the absolute opposite. I think Thunder Road may be my current favourite, but it is ‘Born to Run’ which has been promptly added to my jogging playlist, where perhaps it should always have been. This point was proven when on my lunchtime run with those drums, guitars and horns blasting in my ears, I picked up the pace and felt a welcome lightness.

Other revelations from the day have included me donning a work shirt for two zoom meetings, which made me look like a borderline professional once more (well, from the waist up - my comfy, tartan trousers balancing the truth) and on speaking with one client and discussing future strategy, I heard myself say the words “all being well, we’ll be able to meet face to face at that point”!

Another high point from the day is the news that my father has now been jabbed too, meaning, if I understand correctly that both parents are now invincible and able to leap and/or destroy tall buildings.

All that remains to close out a fine day is a walk in the late evening sunshine and a decent pizza in front of an overdue re-watch of Hamilton.

Have a good weekend all!

Stay healthy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.