pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Friendsy

What a lovely day it has been.

I was up late last night catching up on a couple of blips and doing some writing, so was in no rush to go anywhere or do anything this morning and could ease into the day with the requisite brew in hand.

Pottering around and doing some chores, I remembered that I had asked for a copy of the play script that BATS were looking to put on in June, so I read that as I munched my breakfast. It is a murder mystery that I have never heard of before, but I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Everything you would expect with a few darkly comic moments scattered throughout. Looking forward to reading it through with the gang on Wednesday.

I got myself together as I was meeting Simmo for an overdue walk and talk, where we headed up Orrest Head (where today’s shot is taken from) before walking back down to the lake at Miller Ground and then to hers through the woods. It took just over two hours and I was pretty tired by the end (due in no small part to the fact that Simmo seemed to be operating at race pace and I was struggling to match her stride at points!!), but I think we’d caught up on everything.

A power nap followed before a steak n cheese sandwich and then out to meet Rustyplums for a catch up and a couple of pints. It worked rather nicely as I wasn’t up for a late one and so before I left, I handed him off to some friends of his who were up visiting.

Interesting bunch and a few conspiracy theories abounded regarding history repeating and pandemics being the precursor to a world war. There was the discussion about Putin and whether “removing” him would bring an end to the invasion of Ukraine. I offered up that if you removed him, would somebody else not simply step in to his shoes, but the majority view seemed to be that no, it was definitely just him.

We were all in agreement that it was a desperately sad turn of events and whilst our thoughts were with the Ukrainians (and indeed those Russians who were protesting the war), we felt so bloody useless that we weren’t able to do anything meaningful to help.

Lost in thought, I wandered back to my temporary abode under a peaceful, cloudless sky and quite literally thanked the twinkling lucky stars above me for the free life I so often take for granted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.