pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Whale of a time

Her Ladyship and I were determined to make the most of Sunday and get out for a walk. 

Not before I’d whipped us up a fried egg and bacon sandwich obviously, we’re not animals.

We got to Ambleside in what I thought was good time, but by the time we had walked through to Rydal and its famous caves, it quickly become apparent that the rest of the world had landed on the same idea.

The main cave was heaving with other people (hideous) and one of them had brought a loud, barky dog into a massive echo chamber (even more hideous-erer). I managed to get a couple of shots looking back out of the cave to try and make it look like we were the only ones there. I haven’t decided whether to share them or not yet…

Just outside of the cave, mini cairns were scattered around, so we added our own. I get why this is a thing. It’s so simple, yet so enjoyable. This was my effort.

We dropped in on my sister for a cup of tea and cake on our way back home and managed to time our arrival to ensure that my nephew missed his nap time. They are settling in to their new home nicely and like them, I’m looking forward to seeing it all come together.

LadyV departed not long after as she needed to get a food shop in before her girls returned and with a little time on my hands, I thought I would do the same. With renewed vigour, I was even inspired to venture as far as tidying up my back yard (not a euphemism) and chopped the mouldy bracken back to make way for new growth. Chopping back also revealed a burgeoning dicentra, which I’m hoping will now have a little more space to come into its own.

The rest of the day was spent relaxing, watching the footie and closing out with a viewing of The Whale. It was a hard watch, but strangely compelling. 

I’m hoping that if I keep typing, Monday won’t actually come… 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.