pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Big Blue

The call from the garage came at just the right time. 

I was walking home following a lovely hot chocolate and chat with my sister (who was able to confirm that the “interesting” state of my nephew’s hair that morning was his refusal to remain still in the hairdresser’s chair) when they called, so I turned on my heel and briskly walked towards the garage enjoying the fact that I could follow the river and cross three bridges to get to it.

It was so exciting to have it back and in full working order once more that I couldn’t wait for the children to return home from school. They immediately got changed and grabbed their things whilst I rustled up a snack (grabbed a packet of biscuits) before we jumped into “Big Blue” and headed off.

Initially we were only intending on a quick round trip to Windermere, but with the wee ones chatting away and enjoying the ride, we kept going all the way through until Thirlmere, where we parked up and I ushered them to the rear of the van. They hadn’t had a chance to see it yet, but about a week ago a small rug and sofa were added to the boot space, which they thought was amazing and immediately jumped on and cuddled under the fleecy blanket which had been gifted to me for just such a purpose.

We took a couple of photos as we munched our snacks and enjoyed the view of Helvellyn all from the comfort of a sofa.

Fish n chips will have to wait until we have a full compliment of people, but for now this mini-adventure together should tide us over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.