pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

A quiet place

For the first time in a while, I returned to my regular Sunday morning routine with a brew in bed, Classic Radio playing away quietly whilst I tinkered away with a blip.

I realised that I had owed the Simmo family one after our bowling exploits!

Before very much longer I was up and away as there were a couple of errands to run before taking M’boy to a football match full of high drama. They were two-nil up at one point and playing well, but despite being the best team for most of the match, they lost with the last kick of the match as their opponents notched up a third goal.

To say that M’boy was devastated would be an understatement, but I’m sure that he’ll bounce back. As a wholly impartial linesman and a parent of one of the players, I was on the edge of my metaphorical seat!

The afternoon was a completely different affair as I got some shopping done, set the oven timer and headed down to the allotment I have recently started sharing. It was lovely to spend a couple of hours pottering around, chatting with a friendly robin and also The Eldest who gave me a call to brief me on all the latest uni gossip - she’s definitely making the most of her student status.

It was then that I stopped to listen to the football for a while to write this blip as the slight warmth of the late winter sun bathes my increasingly wrinkled face.

I’ve already found a happy place, so I think I’ll call this one a quiet place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.