pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

It's the invasion, stupid

Perfect Sunday morning with nowhere to be and zero plans for the day, so spent some quality time in bed (not like that, you pervs), with good brews and catching up on the stories of my fellow blippers.

It goes without saying, but I’ll say it anyway, the common theme was one of absolute solidarity with Ukraine and universal condemnation of Putin. The recurrent refrain throughout Hamilton is “History Has Its Eyes On You” and while I daresay that Putin will look upon his actions as building the legacy of a great and all-conquering leader, the majority of the rest of the world will look back upon him as it does now as a massive twat. 

Unfortunately, he’s an exceptionally dangerous and uncompromising one whose decisions have already, and will continue to cost the lives of many. Sanctions are an obvious and necessary course of action whilst the façade of the merest shred of diplomacy remains, but will they lead to a volte-face? Categorically not and instead we will have escalation.

The news tells us (why would it lie?) that the Ukrainians are putting up a strong resistance and fighting the good fight. The world is watching and hoping that once more David is able to slay Goliath - maybe with a couple of additional well-aimed rocks to the testicles for good measure.

The weather has been beautiful, it would have been criminal not to have been out into it and so I took myself off on the lockdown river walk, which I haven’t done in ages. What is it about being near water that lends restoration to the soul? 

Following my meeting with Samm earlier in the week, we had discussed an idea for another episode of D versus The Bear, but I had really struggled in bringing it together. Out on the walk, enjoying the sunshine with nothing but the sounds of the river in my ears, something clicked and I knew how to do what I wanted, so when I returned home I finished the thing in about an hour. I’m not saying it’s any good. I’m saying it is finished!

The rest of the day has been spent pottering, relaxing and watching the epic Carabao Cup Final. I can’t ever remember seeing so many penalties being scored and when, oh when, will managers learn that “bringing on a player for the penalties” is an unbelievably stupid idea.

Unfortunately, there’s a lot of that going around at the moment. 

Stupidity aside, it has been a grand weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.