Two on a Tower

Glorious day today! I didn't venture too far, being a little sore in the eye department, but I wandered up to McCaig's Tower after lunch where the sunshine was wonderful, even tho' it was a touch breezy out on the viewing platform. A solitary lady was lying back on the internal seat soaking up the warmth but there was no sign of Misha the moggy today. 

I spent quite a bit of time looking through the shrub beds to see what improvements could be made - a great number! I still haven't had confirmation in writing from the council that 'Keep Oban Beautiful' can go ahead with garden improvements, we still haven't had confirmation that Scottish and Southern Energy will commit to cutting down the shrubs to be removed, and the fencing contractor, with whom we agreed costs and a starting date of the last week of January, has neither turned up nor replied to emails or phone messages. Very frustrating, and I'm going to have to cancel any work now and resume in the autumn. It's too risky to end up with a lot of new planting in what could be a dry and sunny spring when there's no water up there. Still, I tried! At least we should be able to get some volunteers up there to begin to weed the shrub beds - when I say 'weed', I mean digging out 10ft brambles - tho' we'll still need permission in writing!

On the way out I found Misha dozing under a shrub in the sunshine! My extra today is of a power boat coming into the pontoon from the Kerrera marina.

Quote of the Day:

Percy B. Green - "A man of words but not of deeds, is like a garden full of weeds'"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.