Australia comes to Oban

Not a bad day today tho' woke up to a light, white covering of hailstones. Still cold and I'm afraid to say that I haven't left the house except to go down to the garage to put the recycling bin out. 

On the way back up the steps which lead from behind the garage by the roadside to the house is my tree fern, Dicksonia antarctica, from SE Australia and Tasmania. I brought it with me when I moved here four years ago and it's never been protected. I often wonder if there are any other tree ferns in Oban - maybe I should put this picture on Facebook!

Quote of the day:

Jan de Hartog, 'Waters of the New World'. "He was a charming, shy man with a peaked cap and a shapeless sweater, obviously knitted for him by someone he loved."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.