Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Greening ......

The fields are just showing a little tinge of colour where the new growth is coming through. The sheep were taking the weight off their feet -  not long now till lambs start appearing. It was sunny and windless, and really quite mild, as we walked over the old road from Melrose to Newtown.  

This morning I had a long chat to a friend who lives in the village in Yorkshire where we spent so many years. It's so comforting to know someone so well that you can just pick up where you left off about three months ago.

After lunch, and our walk,  I went looking in my embroidery thread box for something to sew the fastening onto my fair-isle vest. I don't think I've been properly into that box since we moved here 15 years ago. 

At the bottom I found a design and bits of trials for a sampler I once planned to make. I had forgotten all about it. I even found a bit of the family tree in there - I'd been looking for those missing pages everywhere ....  and that was on the back of a piece of paper where I'd written out Spanish verb tenses - the pimperfect subjunctive - did I ever learn that?? 

If so, it has gone completely - as has all enthusiasm for sewing a sampler. I found the thread and stuffed the rest back in the box for another 15 years.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.