At Sunrise

I went to bed earlier last night with the intention of getting up before sunrise to catch the mist rising over Dishley Pool. I was awake at 6.30 am, an unheard of time for me these days. Len got up too. He's worried that I will have an accident. It was good to have his company. He kept an eye on Basil.

As you can tell from the photo, there was beautiful golden light and the mist was rising splendidly. Hoar frost lay over all the reeds and grasses, until the sun melted it magically away. My other objective was to use my Lensbaby Velvet 56mm for landscapes which I thought worked rather well as I did want to capture ethereal atmosphere.

As we drove down the hill at Shepshed, we were afforded a wonderful sight of the Snow Moon to the west (see extra).

People and dogs around as you might expect. A superb morning, fresh and bright. Basil met a big dog called Poppy who was only eight and a half months old. He did agree to play a bit but then had enough and barked her off.

Back home, Len made us a good English breakfast, I processed photos and at about 12.30 pm sank into the chair in the conservatory from which I didn't stir for almost two hours, despite it being such a lovely day. The sleep was refreshing.

Garlic and ginger prawns tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.