Single

Today saw the AGM of the RPS Digital Imaging special interest group, starting at 10 am. Miraculously, I was up, showered and hair washed, not that anyone could see as we were all muted .

The AGM itself was suitably short. I modified the website while it was on but need the names and mugshots of the new committee members. Janet Haines, a founder of DIG and now an RPS trustee, explained the changes in governance that have been proposed. The strapline is 'Photography for Everybody.'

There followed a slideshow of the 178 images selected for the annual print competition, that is, one photo for each of the 178 entrants. I really enjoyed the variety and accomplishment of the successful entries. I thought they were outstanding and not at all in the same vein as routine camera club efforts. My successful image was taken in April last year and was, as Janet Haines would say, opportunistic. Seems to me it's not enough just to take a photo, you have to add value in some way.

The Competition Secretary had done a good job. Entrants had either sent him unmounted prints or pdis which he printed. It was his job to assess the print quality. The judges were Janet Haines, John Miskelly and Martin Addison.

Janet Haines gave the keynote address to conclude. A presentation entitled "Inside My Head,' describing how her work has changed in intent over the years from being opportunistic to assembling odds and ends with which she builds her images. She presented much the same talk at a SheClicks webinar in December 2020, now available on YouTube.

To be honest, I don't like her work. For me it feels a bit tenuous and unfinished. But that doesn't matter. She enjoys what she's doing and she gets recognised for it.

Meanwhile, I'd gone to the conservatory to take my photos of snowdrops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.