DEMOLITION

The weather today has been lovely - lots of sunshine and quite warm.  I went to the village for some shopping and as it was so nice out I had a bit of a wander before coming home. 

I had read on the village Facebook page that the local Working Mens Club was finally being demolished so I thought I would take a look to see what was happening.  The club closed its doors in 2016 and had fallen into disrepair.  Planning permission has now been granted for the site to be cleared and a block of 14 apartments will be built.  They will be for older people and will all be wheelchair accessible.  Its good that the site will now provide something useful for the community.  However its sad to think its the end of an era.  My Dad was a regular at the club for many years and after I was married I used to go there too with my husband on a Saturday night.  They always had a live band playing or a comedian and of course there was bingo.  Happy times.

I took a lot of shots of the club  and there is another collage in my Extras.  It was strange to be able to look through broken windows and gaps in the walls to see inside. I'm glad I went to see it today just in case its the last time.

Musical link  DEMOLITION Man - by The Police

When I got home I had a Whatsapp chat with Becky and a Facebook chat with my sister in law.  She managed to book us into a guest house in Portrush for one night.  She got the last 2 rooms.  Seems like Portrush is a popular place.  My brother has been there a few  times on golfing holidays and he likes it.  So that's sorted.  Car hire will be booked tomorrow.

Footie this evening on Sky.  Watched on my computer.  Newcastle were at home to Wolves.  Newcastle actually played better than they have done recently.  In the first half they had some chances at goals but didn't score. They did get a goal in the second half but couldn't hold on to the lead and Wolves scored after 73 mins.  So it ended in a draw.  One point is not much good to Newcastle who are still in the danger zone  - 4th bottom of the table. 

Steps today - 9,228

CORONA CLASSIC - Chopin's Prelude № 4 in E-minor, Opus 28 played by Jimmy Page ( of Led Zeppelin )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.