February Challenge - People at Work

I read about the " People At Work "  community challenge and I have been wondering what to post as an entry.  This morning when I opened the living room curtains I found my subjects.  My new neighbour across the road was getting replacement windows.  I took a few shots for my collage showing first one workmen and then another who joined him.

Musical link - Business As Usual - by MEN AT WORK

Its been a sunny dry day today but there was a bitterly cold wind. So I decided to stay indoors.  Tino and Lily had the same idea.  I caught up with a few chores and watched a lot of TV ( Tino snuggled in next to me on the sofa).

Fedex delivered another 2 fluorescent tubes.  They were not as well packed as the ones I got the other day which had arrived broken so I was  sure that these ones would be broken too.  But I shouldn't have been pessimistic.... they were both in perfect condition.  Yay!.

So then I had to fit one of them in the kitchen.  If you had seen me up a ladder holding the 5 foot tube in both hands and trying to stay steady without being able to hold on to the ladder it would have looked like a scene in Casualty - just before the accident happened.  It wasn't easy trying not to wobble and getting the " sticky out bits"  ( I'm sure that's the technical term ) at the ends of the tube  into the holes in the plastic housing on the ceiling.  I had to stretch up and agitate the tube to get it to click in to the slots. I was so relieved when it fitted in and I could get down the ladder to safety.  Its great to have light at that end of the kitchen once again. 

It's my nephew Gary's 40th birthday today.  I'm his Godmother so he's always been special to me.  His partner is due to give birth any day now. ( he has 3 children already )  Can't wait to hear the news.

Steps today - 4,627

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.