Rising Full Moon

While we were admiring the huge moon rising above the trees, John was falling down the stairs at our neighbor's house where we had had one (just one) glass of wine . Paul, who is a doctor, brought him home and said it could be either a closed fracture of the ankle bone or a sprain and that there was no way to tell without an x-ray.

We have spent a good part of the day at the urgent care (anything but)
clinic. We were instructed to call from the parking lot but were unable to raise a human being, so John hobbled to the door and made his way in. Since I couldn't go in with him and he didn't know how long he would be, I decided to go home and await developments. No sooner had I folded the laundry then I was summoned back there to drive him 100 yards from the clinic to the x-ray department and back to the clinic again. 

Again I waited in the car and John waited in an exam room inside for quite awhile but we finally agreed that I should go home again...especially since I was pretty sure I had left the bedroom door wide open. Turns out they were waiting for someone to read the x-ray and tell him that he had a 'closed fracture of the tibial malleolus'. 

Once again I find myself saying it could be so much worse and indeed I am grateful for that, but it is still  a pain in the butt as well as the ankle....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.