Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Lock Cottage

I "discovered" the Deepcut Flight of Locks a couple of weeks ago and determined that given more time and better weather I would walk the  2 miles or so flight of 14 locks; today was the day!

This is Lock Cottage at the top of the flight starting with Lock 28. It was rebuilt in 1925 and is now a private residence. If you look large you can also see a pile of wood next to the lock ... these are new lock gates, beautifully made and engraved with the lock number, 28, and year, 2021. I assume they will be installed later in the year.

I took leisurely stroll down the tow path to the bottom of the flight at Lock 15 by Pirbright Bridge, taking in the glorious views, and enjoying the spring sunshine and birdsong. My only concern was having to avoid the fairly steady stream of cyclists, but on the whole they were extremely considerate of other path users. The extra shows that I did actually visit each lock!

By the time I walked back I had walked 6miles and nearly 15000 steps ... not bad for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.