pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

A walk above the clouds

Following the walk I enjoyed with Russ yesterday, Simmo had a lot to live up to.

Fortunately, she delivered and after a chest warming march up Loughrigg we were able to look down on the inversion covering Windermere (see extra). It was a spectacular sight and one that I’m not quite sure I’ve done justice here (you may need to zoom in), but I hope you get the idea.

We wandered along the top and came to the summit whereupon we could also look down on Elterwater and Grasmere. Further along, we found a spot to sit with the sun at our backs (main) and gaze down into Grasmere as a flock of birds circled and swooped in the distance over the lake and trees as we enjoyed a well-earned drinks and cookie break.

The weather has been absolutely spectacular today so on returning home and post-Asda shop I scoffed a quick sandwich and immediately headed back out to repeat yesterday’s river walk. This time I had my headphones in and in need of a break from Bruce (Springsteen not Forsyth or Willis), I closed my eyes, felt the sun warm my worn face and let the transcendental ‘If Beale Street Could Talk’ soundtrack wash me away. I have never before heard pure love captured in sound until I heard this track, aptly entitled ‘Eden’.

The amount of happy, smiling faces (at a distance) I have seen this weekend has warmed the soul and it is a timely reminder in this elongated pandemic that there is nothing more infectious than a smile.

Everything is going to be alright.

Stay healthy and……..”Talk less. Smile more.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.