A beautiful day today

... we deserve a week of them!

I attended the Yorkshire Photographic Union AGM this morning, in Pontefract, where I dropped off the club entries for the annual competition. So, big relief - I can tick that job of the list. I've also sent off five images for the Sheffield KO where clubs from from quite a wide region compete for the honours. So second job completed. I think I can get on with other parts of my life now.

I loved this view when I saw it, the curving lines and the bright green of the box hedge as I emerged from the dark of the Yew tree walk. Taken at Brodsworth today, where I thought I might find Mum and my brother this lunchtime - though it turns out they'd gone to Nostell Priory instead!

I then had a wonderful couple of ours at the Old Moor Wetlands (on my route home) and I saw the young Smew that has been on the reserve for the last four/ five weeks. Lots of excitement from everyone there - though my photo is a smudge of brown head and a few spots of white blur in the distance. In fact all of my bird photos were failures today - wrong setting (too slow shutter speed) and too much mixed dark/bright light. My other favourite photos today were taken of the reed beds which glistened like gold in the sun. It's just such a lovely walk around the water, especially on days like today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.