Birthday Boy.

A's little boy F turned 1 year old on Tuesday. How the heck did that happen? I can't believe it. Today was his birthday party; the cake was really impressive cake - made by A and S in the wee small hours the night before. It was gruffalo themed, and was so professional-looking I think they could have sold it. I suggested a business plan, but I think the stress of one cake a year was enough for them! Here is the birthday boy, tucking into some scarily green icing.

In fact, there are two bits of big news for this happy little family - A and S got engaged on their recent holiday to Morzine, too. I'm so happy for them both :) When I look back one year, I can't believe how everthing has changed for all three of them. F can do so much on his own: feeding himself (a little haphazardly), standing unaided (and now taking the first few wobbly steps), banging things LOUDLY off the surface of the table, chatting away in a language only he understands, smiling widely and laughing all the time, and making friends with all the other children at the party. I have hardly ever seen him cry. I can't believe my friend A, and her lovely partner, brought this little guy into the world - well done them. He's an absolute joy to be around and M and I had a great time at the party (although, as one of the only couples without a sproglet, we felt we probably should have stolen a kid to bring along with us).

When I used to see friends swooning over their own friends' children, I must admit I found it a bit weird. But A was the first of my friends to have their own baby - and suddenly I got it. Happy belated birthday, F - can't wait to see you grow another year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.