Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Dydd Gwyl Dewi

It’s March 1st, the  first day of meteorological spring, and its St David’s Day - Dydd Gwyl Dewi. And added to this, the weather is absolutely glorious. 

There is no option in terms of blip subject matter today; it has to be daffodils. And so I head out into the garden immediately after breakfast to photograph my daffodils in the dew-sparked garden, the sunlight perfect for my subject. 

That should have been it; blip done and dusted, but there follows a frustrating period where iMac and iPad decide to stop talking ...... Eventually, we sort it - left to my own devices I’m likely to do some serious damage to our home technology!

I think back to past St David’s Days. As a child, there was always the question of whether the daffodils would be in bloom by now; they certainly seem to flower earlier these days. Then there would be the wrapping of the stem in foil, securing with a safety pin, and hoping it would survive the day without wilting beyond recognition. Daffodils do not make the easiest button holes, and in recent years Marie Curie  flowers have been a better option.

It’s a day when children - particularly those in Welsh medium schools - dress up in traditional costume, and as an extra, I’ve included our two sons with one of their classmates - taken some 28 years ago. And it’s a day for school Eisteddfods - completions in performances, art and writing. Sadly not this year of course. 

Still, the day’s not over, and I might yet get round to making Welsh cakes ..... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.