Frost

It's a spring-like day now, but there was a hard frost last night. This meant that it was too beautiful not to offer to walk Django this morning! 

March 1 is also the day that Bulgarians celebrate "Grandmother March". Hence I'm wearing the red-and-white fertility bracelet (martenitsa) that was sent for me by И's mother, Ю. In keeping with the tradition, I'll wear it until I see a stork - No chance in Scotland! - or a flowering tree, and hang it to a branch. In Bulgaria that's a matter of days or weeks, but here it can be well into May!

This year, thanks to my friend C, I've added a Romanian perspective to my knowledge of this pagan tradition. It appeals to me, as I'm not religious, with paganism closest to any spirituality that I feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.